Happy Saturday: April 18 Edition


Hey lovelies!

How is your weekend? I hope it's filled with sunshine, great weather, and lots of time for reading. I've gotten out of my reading rut a little bit ago, but I think the universe is playing with me. Just when I want to read, I have very little time to read. Work has gotten beyond hectic, but I've managed to sneak away a little time to read. 



Since my last update, I've read eight books. My favorites. of those books were Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen and The Devil You Know by Trish Doller.

I was pleasantly surprised by both, but especially by Sarah Dessen. I didn't really like the last couple of Sarah Dessen's book, but Saint Anything, is the first of her books that I've connected with in a while. I really like it. The Devil You Know isn't my favorite Trish Doller book (def. WTSSS), but you can't go wrong with her books. This ones really dark but I like it. Mostly. 

I'm still working my way through ATBP and I'm enjoying it every step of the way. I've heard that it causes some heartbreak and I'm absolutely nervous/excited. But I'll let you know.


So PenguinTeen sent me a review copy for a Tale of Two Besties. I'm so excited and curious. It looks fun and I hope that it is! But I don't know if I want to read that before or after I read I Was Here. It was a trade and I'm generally a fan of Gayle Forman. 

Either way, I don't think I can go wrong.

What are you reading this weekend? Let me know in the comments!

Things We Know By Heart (Review)


Things We Know By Heart
Jessi Kirby


When Quinn Sullivan meets the recipient of her boyfriend’s donated heart, the two form an unexpected connection.


After Quinn loses her boyfriend, Trent, in an accident their junior year, she reaches out to the recipients of his donated organs in hopes of picking up the pieces of her now-unrecognizable life. She hears back from some of them, but the person who received Trent’s heart has remained silent. The essence of a person, she has always believed, is in the heart. If she finds Trent’s, then maybe she can have peace once and for all.

Risking everything in order to finally lay her memories to rest, Quinn goes outside the system to track down nineteen-year-old Colton Thomas—a guy whose life has been forever changed by this priceless gift. But what starts as an accidental run-in quickly develops into more, sparking an undeniable attraction. She doesn't want to give in to it—especially since he has no idea how they're connected—but their time together has made Quinn feel alive again. No matter how hard she’s falling for Colton, each beat of his heart reminds her of all she’s lost…and all that remains at stake. 

Finding Paris (Review)


Finding Paris
By: Joy Preble


A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK, about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love.

But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly.

99 Days


99 Days
By: Katie Cotugno

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything—how I destroyed my relationship with Patrick the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. How I wrecked their whole family. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college, and be done.


Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe got me to come to this party, and I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

Top 10 Books From My Childhood (Or teen years)


Elementary School


Looking back at it, I guess in elementary school I was really interested in worlds unlike my own and young characters with agency. Characters who could do things. Things that I dreamed that I could do when I was 18 and an adult. So whether it was Harry Potter, Anne, Sammy Keyes, or Matilda, I think I gravitated towards books that kids did things. 


Middle School
 

I guess middle school is when I had my sexual awakening. I definitely was obsessed with kissing and experimenting and being cooler than I thought I was. Back then it seemed embarrasing to ask questions...so I looked for answers in books. I remember looking to these books for advice on how to guide life.

I used GG and The Clique as guidebooks for popularity. I used the snogging scale in Angus, Thongs, and Full-Frontal Snogging...for reasons! I wished I was as cool as Edie on navigating the murky waters of crushes. And for Troy...my friend told me in middle school because it was kind of dirty, because of *whispers* s...e...x (it was the only book in our school library that I found that had sex in it though and historical sex is better than no sex at all, amirite?)


The Walls Around Us (Review)


The Walls Around Us
By: Nova Ren Suma


The Walls Around Us is a ghostly story of suspense told in two voices—one still living and one long dead. On the outside, there’s Violet, an eighteen-year-old dancer days away from the life of her dreams when something threatens to expose the shocking truth of her achievement. On the inside, within the walls of a girls’ juvenile detention center, there’s Amber, locked up for so long she can’t imagine freedom. Tying these two worlds together is Orianna, who holds the key to unlocking all the girls’ darkest mysteries.


We hear Amber’s story and Violet’s, and through them Orianna’s, first from one angle, then from another, until gradually we begin to get the whole picture—which is not necessarily the one that either Amber or Violet wants us to see.

Nova Ren Suma tells a supernatural tale of guilt and innocence, and what happens when one is mistaken for the other. 


One of the Guys (Review)


One of the Guys
By: Lisa Aldin

Tomboy to the core, Toni Valentine understands guys. She'll take horror movies, monster hunts and burping contests over manicures. So Toni is horrified when she's sent to the Winston Academy for Girls, where she has to wear a skirt and learn to be a lady while the guys move on without her.

Then Toni meets Emma Elizabeth, a girl at school with boy troubles, and she volunteers one of her friends as a pretend date. Word spreads of Toni’s connections with boys, and she discovers that her new wealthy female classmates will pay big money for fake dates. Looking for a way to connect her old best friends with her new life at school, Toni and Emma start up Toni Valentine’s Rent-A-Gent Service.

But the business meets a scandal when Toni falls for one of her friends--the same guy who happens to be the most sought-after date. With everything she's built on the line, Toni has to decide if she wants to save the business and her old life, or let go of being one of the guys for a chance at love.
 

Happy Saturday: Feb. 20 Edition


So I know that I've been M.I.A. on the blog lately and I wanted to ease back into it by updating you on my reading adventures by filling you in what I just finish, am reading, and one book that's on my tbr. 

Past
So I recentally finished Jellicoe Road and Snow Like Ashes. They couldn't be more different from each other but I love them both and highly recommend them. Both of them are absolutely brilliant and I'm in love!!!
Present

A Mad, Wicked Folly is a bit of a slow start, but I still have high hopes. It's just one of those books that I feel like I should love... I'm just waiting to start to fall in love.

TBR
I've heard so much praise, but even without it, I'd still want to read this. Hello, the cover is absolutely gorgeous!!

What are you currently reading? Let me know in the comments!

Magnolia (Review)


Magnolia
By: Kristi Cook

In Magnolia Branch, Mississippi, the Cafferty and Marsden families are southern royalty. Neighbors since the Civil War, the families have shared vacations, holidays, backyard barbecues, and the overwhelming desire to unite their two clans by marriage. So when a baby boy and girl were born to the families at the same time, the perfect opportunity seemed to have finally arrived.

Jemma Cafferty and Ryder Marsden have no intention of giving in to their parents’ wishes. They’re only seventeen, for goodness’ sake, not to mention that one little problem: They hate each other! Jemma can’t stand Ryder’s nauseating golden-boy persona, and Ryder would like nothing better than to pretend stubborn Jemma doesn’t exist.

But when a violent storm ravages Magnolia Branch, it unearths Jemma’s and Ryder’s true feelings for each other as the two discover that the line between love and hate may be thin enough to risk crossing over.

The Ruby Circle (Review)


The Ruby Circle
By: Richelle Mead

Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

After their secret romance is exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s New York Times bestselling Bloodlines series. When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world.